## PCT Contracting States and Two-letter Codes (156 on 1 November 2022)

555

| AE United Arab<br>Emirates<br>AG Antigua and Barbuda<br>AL Albania (EP)<br>AM Armenia (EA)<br>AO Angola<br>AT Austria (EP)<br>AU Australia<br>AZ Azerbaijan (EA)<br>BA Bosnia and<br>Herzegovina <sup>1</sup><br>BB Barbados<br>BE Belgium (EP) <sup>2</sup><br>BF Burkina Faso (OA) <sup>2</sup><br>BG Bulgaria (EP)<br>BH Bahrain<br>BJ Benin (OA) <sup>2</sup><br>BN Brunei Darussalam<br>BR Brazil<br>BW Botswana (AP)<br>BY Belarus (EA)<br>BZ Belize<br>CA Canada<br>CF Central African<br>Republic (OA) <sup>2</sup><br>CG Congo (OA) <sup>2</sup><br>CH Switzerland (EP)<br>CI Côte d'Ivoire (OA) <sup>2</sup><br>CL Chile<br>CM Cameroon (OA) <sup>2</sup><br>CN China<br>CO Colombia<br>CR Costa Rica<br>CU Cuba | CV Cabo Verde<br>CY Cyprus (EP) <sup>2</sup><br>CZ Czechia (EP)<br>DE Germany (EP)<br>DJ Djibouti<br>DK Denmark (EP)<br>DM Dominica<br>DO Dominican Republic<br>DZ Algeria<br>EC Ecuador<br>EE Estonia (EP)<br>EG Egypt<br>ES Spain (EP)<br>FI Finland (EP)<br>FR France (EP) <sup>2</sup><br>GA Gabon (OA) <sup>2</sup><br>GB United Kingdom (EP)<br>GD Grenada<br>GE Georgia<br>GH Ghana (AP)<br>GM Gambia (AP)<br>GM Gambia (AP)<br>GN Guinea (OA) <sup>2</sup><br>GQ Equatorial Guinea<br>(OA) <sup>2</sup><br>GR Greece (EP) <sup>2</sup><br>GT Guatemala<br>GW Guinea-Bissau (OA) <sup>2</sup><br>HN Honduras<br>HR Croatia (EP)<br>HU Hungary (EP)<br>ID Indonesia<br>IE Ireland (EP) <sup>2</sup><br>IL Israel<br>IN India | IQ Iraq<br>IR Iran (Islamic<br>Republic of)<br>IS Iceland (EP)<br>IT Italy (EP) <sup>3</sup><br>JM Jamaica<br>JO Jordan<br>JP Japan<br>KE Kenya (AP)<br>KG Kyrgyzstan (EA)<br>KH Cambodia <sup>4</sup><br>KM Comoros (OA) <sup>2</sup><br>KN Saint Kitts and Nevis<br>KP Democratic People's<br>Republic of Korea<br>KR Republic of Korea<br>KR Republic of Korea<br>KW Kuwait<br>KZ Kazakhstan (EA)<br>LA Lao People's Demo-<br>cratic Republic<br>LC Saint Lucia<br>LI Liechtenstein (EP)<br>LK Sri Lanka<br>LR Liberia (AP)<br>LS Lesotho (AP)<br>LT Lithuania (EP) <sup>2</sup><br>LU Luxembourg (EP)<br>LV Latvia (EP) <sup>2</sup><br>LY Libya<br>MA Morocco <sup>4</sup><br>MC Monaco (EP <sup>3</sup><br>MD Republic of Moldova <sup>4</sup><br>ME Montenegro (EP) <sup>2,5</sup><br>MG Madagascar | MK North Macedonia (EP)<br>ML Mali (OA) <sup>2</sup><br>MN Mongolia<br>MR Mauritania (OA) <sup>2</sup><br>MT Malta (EP) <sup>2</sup><br>MW Malawi (AP)<br>MX Mexico<br>MY Malaysia<br>MZ Mozambique (AP)<br>NA Namibia (AP)<br>NA Namibia (AP)<br>NE Niger (OA) <sup>2</sup><br>NG Nigeria<br>NI Nicaragua<br>NL Netherlands (EP) <sup>2</sup><br>NO Norway (EP)<br>NZ New Zealand<br>OM Oman<br>PA Panama<br>PE Peru<br>PG Papua New Guinea<br>PH Philippines<br>PL Poland (EP)<br>PT Portugal (EP)<br>QA Qatar<br>RO Romania (EP)<br>RU Russian<br>Federation (EA)<br>RW Rwanda (AP)<br>SA Saudi Arabia<br>SC Seychelles<br>SD Sudan (AP)<br>SE Sweden (EP) | <ul> <li>SI Slovenia (EP)<sup>2</sup></li> <li>SK Slovakia (EP)</li> <li>SL Sierra Leone (AP)</li> <li>SM San Marino (EP)<sup>2</sup></li> <li>SN Senegal (OA)<sup>2</sup></li> <li>ST Sao Tome and<br/>Principe (AP)</li> <li>SV El Salvador</li> <li>SY Syrian Arab Republic</li> <li>SZ Eswatini (AP)<sup>2</sup></li> <li>TD Chad (OA)<sup>2</sup></li> <li>TG Togo (OA)<sup>2</sup></li> <li>TH Thailand</li> <li>TJ Tajikistan (EA)</li> <li>TM Turkmenistan (EA)</li> <li>TN Tunisia<sup>4</sup></li> <li>TR Turkey (EP)</li> <li>TT Trinidad and Tobago</li> <li>TZ United Republic of<br/>Tanzania (AP)</li> <li>UA Ukraine</li> <li>UG Uganda (AP)</li> <li>US United States of<br/>America</li> <li>UZ Uzbekistan</li> <li>VC Saint Vincent and the<br/>Grenadines</li> <li>VN Viet Nam</li> <li>WS Samoa</li> <li>ZA South Africa</li> <li>ZM Zambia (AP)</li> <li>ZW Zimbabwe (AP)</li> </ul> |
|--|--|--|---|--|

4 Validation of European patent possible.

For international applications filed before 1 October 2022, only an extension of a European patent is possible (there is no national phase before the Intellectual Property Office of Montenegro). International applications filed on or after 1 October 2022 will include the designation of Montenegro for a European Patent. 5

Where a State can be designated for a regional patent, the two-letter code for the regional patent concerned is indicated in parentheses (AP = ARIPO patent, EA = Eurasian patent, EP = European patent, OA = OAPI patent).

*Important:* This list includes all States that have adhered to the PCT by the date shown in the heading. Any State indicated in *bold italics* has adhered to the PCT but will only become bound by the PCT on the date shown in parentheses; it will not be considered to have been designated in international applications filed before that date.

Note that even though the filing of a request constitutes under PCT Rule 4.9(a) the designation of all Contracting States bound by the PCT on the international filing date, for the grant of every kind of protection available and, where applicable, for the grant of both regional and national patents, applicants should always use the latest version of the e-filing software used to generate the request form, or the latest versions of the request form (PCT/RO/101) and demand form (PCT/IPEA/401) (the latest versions are dated 1 July 2022). The request and demand forms can be printed from the website, in editable PDF format, at: https://www.wipo.int/pct/en/ forms/, or obtained from receiving Offices or the International Bureau, or, in the case of the demand form, also from International Preliminary Examining Authorities. Where possible, applicants are encouraged to use ePCT-Filing in order to benefit from the most up-to-date PCT data.